How A Levels are graded

How A Levels are graded


A-levels are graded using a letter grade system from A* to E, with A* being the highest grade and E being the lowest passing grade. A-level grades are based on the marks achieved in final exams at the end of the two-year A-level course.

The A-level exams are designed to test students' knowledge and understanding of the subjects they have studied, as well as their ability to think critically, analyse information, and apply their knowledge to real-world problems.

The exact grading criteria for each subject may vary slightly, but in general, A-level exams are graded based on a combination of the following factors:

  • Knowledge and understanding of the subject matter
  • Application of knowledge to real-world problems
  • Critical thinking and analytical skills
  • Communication and written skills
  • Use of appropriate terminology and concepts
  • Ability to analyse and interpret data
  • Use of evidence to support arguments
  • Originality and creativity in ideas and approaches

After the exams are marked, the raw scores are converted into grades using a standardising process that ensures consistency and fairness across all exam papers.

The final grades are then released to students, and these grades are used to determine university admissions and other educational opportunities.

You can view the full range of A Levels that we offer by clicking below. They can be studied over a two year period or 'fast track' over a shorter time frame.